Flow With the Rhythms of Life by Opening the “Sacral Chakra”

23 June, Kathmandu : Do you feel repressed from expressing your emotions and desires freely ? Do you feel sexually frigid… or the opposite: struggle with low libido? Do you feel emotionally reactive and surround yourself with drama ? Do you struggle with compulsive behaviors?

All of these symptoms point to an unbalanced sacral chakra (svadhisthana chakra). When out of balance, a person may experience emotional instability, sexual dysfunction, or addictions. Performing sacral healing through rituals, postures, and meditation restores creative expression, emotional stability, and sensual pleasure.

What Is a Chakra ?

Hindu and Buddhist philosophies say that the physical and spiritual come together at the chakras. Each person has seven chakras, spinning wheels of energy that align along the spine. The sacral chakra, or Svadhisthana chakra in Sanskrit, represents the second chakra situated in the lower abdomen below the tailbone.

In Sanskrit, Svadhisthana means “the dwelling place of the self”, and some also say it has another meaning of “take pleasure in”. The sacral chakra relates to emotional and sexual energy in the body and our ability to flow with change.

When in balance, someone radiates warmth and feels playful, desirable, and free to express themselves. When out of balance, a person feels shameful, sexually dysfunctional, and prone to addictions and compulsive behaviors. Physically, an unbalanced sacral chakra can cause reproductive problems such as infertility, impotence, or menstrual issues as well as lower back, kidney, or stomach disorders.

The Sacral Chakra at a Glance

Name in Sanskrit: Svadhisthana means the “dwelling place of the self”
Location: The lower abdomen below the tailbone (includes lower pelvis, womb, and genitals)
Color: Orange, Mantra : Vam
Element: Water
Signs of balance: Feelings of creativity, playfulness, and sensual and sexual pleasure
Signs of imbalance: Addictive/compulsive behaviors, sexual dysfunction, fear of change, emotional instability. In the body, the sacral chakra connects with reproductive issues (infertility, impotence, or menstrual issues) and lower back, kidney, or stomach disorders.

The Svadhisthana chakra relates to the water element, and like water, the sacral energy controls fluidity, versatility, and freedom, whether sexual, emotional, or creative. When in balance, someone feels an abundance of creativity and pleasure. When out of balance, a person feels emotionally unstable, sexual dysfunction, and a lack of creative energy.

How To Open the Sacral Chakra

Burn Svadhisthana incense and essential oils.

Aromatherapy has powerful healing properties that can restore feelings of sensuality and creativity. To open the sacral chakra, try burning cleansing aromas like cardamom, eucalyptus, chamomile, spearmint, patchouli, ylang ylang, rose, or clary sage.

Repeat positive affirmations about sensuality and creativity.

By repeating affirmations, we set intentions that break old habits and create new ones. To open the sacral chakra, repeat affirmations, out loud, in your head, or by writing them down. Below you can find some examples of affirmations to balance the sacral chakra:

I deserve to experience pleasure and have my needs met.
I feel safe to express my sexual self in fun, creative, and healthy ways.
I attract relationships with loving, good people who will support me.
I embrace change and make the best of my future.
Every day, I experience more joy and satisfaction.
I flow with inspiration and creativity.
My body is vibrant, and I am comfortable inside it.

Practice postures that stabilize the sacral chakra

Yoga postures, called asanas, help reconnect the physical with the spiritual. Mindful breathing while holding asanas releases tension in the body and mind. Poses like bound angle, squat, goddess, and happy baby restore balance to the sacral chakra.

Reconnect with Water

The sacral chakra relates to the water element and our ability to flow with change. You can reconnect with this element by spending time with water by going for a swim, sitting near the sea or flowing stream, or taking a relaxing bath. Watsu, a form of therapy in which a person is gently held and guided in water, can also provide a powerful ritual for sacral healing.

Read more about chakra healing: Learn how you can open your root chakra, solar plexus chakra, heart chakra, throat chakra , anja chakra, and crown chakra.

Source : https://www.goodnet.org